Sunday, 31 August 2014

Audio Editor Gold - How to Burn a CD

Users can create high-quality CDs from your MP3, WMA, OGG or WAV files. The created music CDs can be played in any player.
Let's start burning files step by step:

Click Audio CD Burner button to go to CD Burner panel.

Step 1: Select SCSI transport you want to use for device access.
Step 2: Select the device you want to burn with.
Step 3: Select the files you want to burn to CD.
Click "Add Files" button to add audio files one by one.


A - You can edit the title and artist of the selected audio file by clicking "CD-Text" button.
B - you can edit the artist and album name of CD.
Step 4: Set the burning options and then click Burn  button to start burning.




Burning mode: Select your desired burning mode when burning.

Burning Speed: Select your desired burning speed.

Send optimum power calibration: Sending optimum power calibration calibrates the device laser power at the beginning of burning session to adjust for the properties of each recordable disc.

Test mode: Check the box to make the burning process in Test mode.

Buffer protection: Check the box to set the buffer protection.

Eject after: Eject disc after burning.

Close disc: Close disc after burning.

Frequently Asked Questions about Audio Editor Gold

 

Audio Editor Gold

Wave Editor - Pro Sound Edition - FAQs

I am trying to use Audio Editor Gold, but it is not working properly. What could be the problem?
Audio Editor Gold instability is caused by insufficient system resources. Audio Editor Gold uses many system resources because it must load the uncompressed data from audio files at once for processing. Although, on most systems, 128 MB of RAM should be sufficient, depending on other hardware in the system, 256 MB might produce much better results.

How do I use Audio Editor Gold to record from a LP or cassette?
Audio Editor Gold can be used to record from any available source. Therefore, you should make the necessary hardware connection from your stereo or other source device to your sound card. Now, within Audio Editor Gold, select the connection used on your sound card as the input source for recording. Start playback on your stereo or other device, and click the record button on the Audio Editor Gold window. When the audio content playback is complete, you can press Stop in Audio Editor Gold, and save the recording via the Save As command. You should keep in mind the frequency at which recordings are saved. 
 
I have attempted to download the software many times, but each time the download is more than the file size listed on the web site. Why am I having this problem?
This problem seems to occur only when using a download manager with specific network conditions. If at all possible, you will have better results by downloading the software normally through your browser. 

I purchased a copy of Audio Editor Gold, and now I want to use it on another computer. What can I do?
The software's license is for a single computer. If you'd like to use the software on an additional computer, you can upgrade your license for $24.95 to support this from http://www.audio-editor.net/

I have purchased a previous version of Audio Editor Gold in the past. How do I upgrade to the new version?
You may upgrade to the new version of Audio Editor Gold for free from the following URL: http://www.audio-editor.net/

Do you sell a version of Audio Editor Gold for the Mac?
No. Audio Editor Gold Soft Development Team does not develop Macintosh software at this time. Unfortunately, as we are not familiar with the Macintosh software market, we do not know of a solution to recommend for similar operations on the Mac platform.

What is the update/upgrade policy for Audio Editor Gold?
When Audio Editor Gold is purchased, all updates for the major version ordered can be downloaded and used free of charge.

What are the recommended Operating System configurations for Audio Editor Gold?
Windows 2000/Me/XP/Vista
Intel Pentium II class 400 MHz processor or better
4x CD-ROM drive or better
A sound card
Microphone (optional) 

How do I uninstall Audio Editor Gold?
To uninstall Audio Editor Gold, click Start from the Windows Taskbar, go into Settings/Control Panels/Add/Remove Programs and select Audio Editor Gold from the Install/Uninstall tab.

How to report bugs?
Please email any bugs or suggestions to support@audio-editor.net. Generally, you will get our support within 24 hours.

FAQs - YTD Video Downloader - Converting and playing videos

YTD Video Downloader  - Helping you Download Videos from Youtube.com.

Converting and playing videos

Receiving an error message when attempting to convert.

In case you receive the following message: "The conversion of your video file has failed, etc." please check the file name under "Select video file" and make sure it is properly set. This file name needs to be a full path to the file, not just the name of the file. For example, if you downloaded a video and saved it as "myvideo.mp4" in your "C:Videos" folder, the "Select video file" box should have "C:Videos myvideo.mp4" in it not just "myvideo.mp4" (no directory name) or "C:Videos myvideo" (no file extension, e.g. ".mp4"). To get the entire file path in the "Select video file" box, click the "Browse" button and locate the video on your drive, select it and try the conversion again, making sure the entire file and path is present and correct.
In case you are still receiving the error message, you may be missing a codec or have conflicting codecs on your computer. This is likely if you are using older version of Windows or you have many video processing applications on your computer. You will need to identify what codec is missing or corrupt and fix it. There are several codec packs available at sites like download.com, eg: Windows Essentials Media Codec Pack however we do not recommend, we do not endorse and we are not responsible for a particular codec pack.

Removing the video and keeping only the audio.

Simply go to the Convert tab, select the video file and choose MPEG Audio Layer 3 (MP3) from the drop-down menu. In the "Choose Quality" dialog you can choose the quality of the mp3 output file. Keep in mind that a higher quality implies a larger file size. You can modify the volume or select only a certain part of the video from the advanced conversion options. Click "Convert Video" and follow the progress in the activity tab.

Converting a video with YTD for iPod Touch.

Since the iPod Touch is more similar to the iPhone, than to the iPod, in order to convert videos for iPod Touch, please choose "iPhone Video" as the file type in the Convert tab.

Not able to play a video file converted using YTD.

It is possible that your computer does not recognize the format of the output file. For best playback results we recommend you to install VLC Media Player In case you are using Windows Media Player, you need to install or upgrade your audio and video codecs with a product such as the Windows Essentials Media Codec Pack.

Converting a file to video DVD or audio CD.

YTD downloads videos from various sites and converts them to several formats. Creating a video DVD or audio CD requires converting audio and video to the correct types and formats, as well as the ability to write files with correct names and locations. There are several commercial and free products available that will help you create a video DVD or audio CD with videos downloaded using YTD.
Please also review this FAQ.

Converting to PSP format is failing.

Converting a file in PSP requires both audio and video data. MP3 files will not be successfully converted to PSP. Also, video files without sound or with the volume set to 0 will not be converted to PSP. Make sure your file has both audio and video data before converting to PSP.

Downloading videos with subtitles using YTD.

YTD will download only the original video. The subtitles are separately introduced in it and will not be downloaded by YTD.

YTD Video Downloader - FAQs about the License

How can I recover my license?

Please complete the form here and we will send you an email with the license key.

Can I transfer my license in case my computer crashes or it is replaced?

Yes. In order to transfer your YTD Pro license simply go to Help > Transfer Your License. If you need to reset your YTD Pro license please go here.

Why do I receive a Communication Error message when trying to register my license key?

The registration process is blocked by something. We recommend you to disable your firewall and/or bypass your modem/router in order to use a direct connection to the internet.

Does YTD offer a free version?

Yes, YTD offers a free version which is downloadable here.

Does YTD offer a PRO version?

Yes. YTD offers a Pro version which provides additional features. For more details please go here.

What is the validity of a YTD Pro license?

The Pro license is valid for 1 year from the moment of purchase, for all YTD versions that are released during that time frame.
We recommend you to carefully review the Pro license terms before purchase since future versions may contain new or different license terms.

When does my YTD Pro license expire?

To view this information please go to Help > Your license. There you will find the expiration date. You also have the option to renew your YTD Pro subscription.

How can I purchase a YTD Pro license?

You can securely perform the transaction using Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Banking Account or a Paypal account. Some other payment methods are accepted as well.

Can the YTD PRO license be used on multiple computers?

No, the license can be registered on a single computer at a time.
In case you wish to use YTD Pro on several computers, we are offering discounts for multiple licenses purchased within a single payment.

Getting a Failed error when downloading a video by YTD Video Downloader?

There can be multiple causes for this. First, make sure you are using the latest version of YTD by opening the program and going to “Help” > “Check for updates”.

YTD uses cookies on Internet Explorer to download videos. In case you encounter issues downloading videos from specific sites, try playing them in IE and try downloading the video while Internet Explorer is running. If you cannot view the video please make sure IE is up to date.

If you receive a "Pause, waiting for internet connection" or "Failed 6" error please perform the following actions: Regardless of your default web browser, reset your Internet Explorer settings by going to "Tools" (Alt + X keyboard shortcut) > "Internet Options" > "Advanced" tab. Select "Reset", making sure to choose the "Delete personal setting" check box.

YTD's connection can be blocked by your antivirus or firewall. Make sure to add YTD to your firewall's list of allowed programs. If the issue persists, try switching your Antivirus and/or Firewall off and try using YTD again.

If you are using AVG Internet Security please make sure to disable the AVG Accelerator option by going to "Options" -> "Advanced settings" -> "Web Browsing protection" -> "Online Shield".

In case you use Zone Alarm, go to COMPUTER Protected section, then to Application Control. Select YTD, click on the ? (question mark), select ALLOW. Try using YTD. If the issue persists please uninstall Zone Alarm from your computer and try again.

YTD's connection can be blocked by McAfee. When prompted about YTD's access, please select "Allow". If the issue persists please uninstall McAfee and try again.

As a final solution you can uninstall YTD. Run a registry cleaner program and reinstall YTD.

Audio Editor Gold

Key Features
Supported Formats
System Requirements

Wave Editor - Pro Sound Edition - FAQs


Q. What sound card you recommend?
A. Sound Card must support 44000 sample rate 

Q. What CPU you recommend?
A. Pentium II 300 or better 

Q. While attempting to open a WMA file the software does not seem to respond.
A. Unfortunately, a major inconvenience with the WMA file at present is that many files are protected, or locked. As far as we know, protected WMA files cannot be converted with any software. Some WMA files are intentionally protected, while others are automatically protected upon creation by the producing software. 

Q. Program return "Can't find DirectSound compatible device"
A. You may be able to convert your sound card to a DirectSound-compatible full-duplex sound card by installing the latest version of the sound driver for your sound card. Contact the manufacturer of your sound card to inquire about how to obtain and install the latest version of the sound driver for your sound card.  

Friday, 29 August 2014

Windows Movie Maker - How to Work with video transitions?

A video transition controls how your movie plays from one video clip or picture to the next. You can add a transition between two pictures, video clips, or titles, in any combination, on the storyboard/timeline. The transition plays before the one clip ends and while the other clip starts to play. Windows Movie Maker contains various transitions you can add to your project. Transitions are stored in the Video Transitions folder in the collections pane.

You can change the playback duration of a video transition up to the duration of the shorter of the two adjacent clips. If you drag the video clip or picture on the timeline that you want to transition to over the clip or picture that you want to transition from, a cross-fade is added as the default transition between the two clips. There will be a straight cut (no fade) between two clips if you do not create a transition.
Any transitions you add appear on the Transition track of the timeline. To see this track, you must expand the Video track. The video transition length is determined by the amount of overlap between two clips. The following illustration displays a project on the timeline with an added video transition.

To add a video transition

  1. On the storyboard/timeline, select the second of the two video clips or pictures that you want to add a transition between.
  2. On the Tools menu, click Video Transitions.
    –or-
    In the Movie Tasks pane, under Edit Movie, click View video transitions.
  3. In the Contents pane, click the video transition you want to add.
  4. On the Clip menu, click Add to Timeline or Add to Storyboard.
Note
  • You can also add a video transition by dragging it to the timeline and dropping it between the two clips on the Video track. Or, on the storyboard, you can drag the video transition to the video transition cell between two video clips or pictures. 

To change the video transition duration

  • On the Transition track of the timeline, do one of the following:
    • To increase the transition duration, drag the beginning of the transition towards the beginning of the timeline.
    • To decrease the transition duration, drag the beginning of the transition towards the end of the timeline.
Note
  • To view the Transition track of the timeline, expand the Video track. The original default time the transition appears is determined by the value for the Transition duration box on the Advanced tab of the Options dialog box. 

To remove a video transition

  1. Do one of the following:
    • On the storyboard, select the transition cell that contains the transition you want to remove.
    • On the timeline, click the transition that you want to remove on the Transition track.
  2. On the Edit menu, click Delete. 
See more about Windows Movie Maker:

How to Create clips (Separate your video clips into smaller)

How to Enter title text Select background music?

How to create an AutoMovie?

How to trim a clip

Windows Movie Maker - How to Create clips (Separate your video clips into smaller)

Creating clips

How to split and combine a video or audio clip?

How to Move and copy clips?

Creating clips lets you separate your video clips into smaller, more manageable pieces.
Clips can be created when you originally import a video file into Windows Movie Maker if you have selected the Create clips for video files check box. However, if this check box is not selected when you import a video file, the file is imported as a single clip rather smaller multiple clips. You can then use clip detection later to divide a video file into smaller clips.
Clips are created in a variety of ways, depending on the video file and video source.
  • Video from a DV camera. If you capture video from a DV camera that is connected to an IEEE 1394 port, clips are created based on the time stamp inserted in the video by the DV camera. If no time stamp or other markers are present, the resulting video file is divided into clips based on each significant frame change in the video.
    If you import an existing DV-AVI file into Windows Movie Maker and time stamp markers appear in the AVI video file, the file is also separated into smaller clips according to time stamp information.
  • Capturing video from an analog video camera or Web camera. If you capture video from an analog camera or Web camera, a clip is created when there is a substantial change in one frame of the video compared to the next frame. This method is used for both live and existing content from an analog source.
    The size and duration of the clips is based on the duration of the entire video file. Therefore, video files that are longer in length will have clips that are longer in duration compared to the clips created when a shorter video file is clip detected.
  • Windows Media files. If you import a Windows Media file with an .asf or .wmv file name extension that has file markers inserted, a clip is created for each marker. The markers help to divide the file into manageable sizes.
    If the source Windows Media file contains no markers or only one marker, a clip is created when there is a substantial change in one frame of the video compared to the next frame.
The time it takes to detect clips in a video file increases as the length of the video file increases. If you click Cancel while clip detection is occurring, clip detection stops at the current point in the video file, the clips that have been detected appear, and the last clip contains the portion of the video file that remained when clip detection was cancelled. You can later click the last clip and then create new clips starting from the last clip at which clip creation was originally cancelled.

See more about  Windows Movie Maker:

Windows Movie Maker - How to Work with video transitions?

How to Enter title text Select background music?

How to create an AutoMovie?

How to trim a clip

How to split and combine a video or audio clip?

How to Move and copy clips?

How to Undo one or multiple actions?

How to Importing video files and clip detection?

How to import existing digital media files?

How to take a picture from video in the monitor?

How to Use the DV controls?

How to Capturing automatically from a DV device?

How to Choose a video setting?

How to capture live video?

How to capture video from tape in an analog camera or VCR?

How to capture parts of video from a tape in a DV camera?

How to capture the entire video from a tape in a DV camera?

How to Capturing video by Windows Movies Maker?



Windows Movie Maker - How to Enter title text Select background music?


Entering title text:

This page provides a space where you can enter the text for your title or credits. This page is similar to the page that is displayed when you are adding a title and entering text for the title as you normally would in Windows Movie Maker when adding a title and creating a movie on your own.
The following appears on this page.
Enter Text for Title
The text area provides a space for you to enter the text for your title. As you type more text, the text font size is appears smaller to accommodate larger amounts of text. To add a title to the storyboard/timeline, you must enter at least one character.
Select an AutoMovie editing style
Click to go to the Select an AutoMovie Editing Style page, and then choose an AutoMovie editing style for your movie.
Select audio or background music
Click to go to the Add Audio or Background Music page, and then select music and adjust the audio levels for your movie.

Selecting background music:

This page lets you choose the background music or other audio for your AutoMovie. You can choose to music that has been imported into Windows Movie Maker, or you can choose to import existing music from another location accessible from your computer.
The following options appear on this page.
Audio or music files
Specifies the audio or music you want to use for your AutoMovie. The audio or music that appears in the list depends on the music that was in the collection or selection when starting to create an AutoMovie. If you do not see the music you want to use in your movie in the list of available audio or music files, you can click Browse to import an audio or music file from another location to use in your movie.
Audio levels
Adjusts the audio levels between the Audio and Audio/Music tracks (the audio that was captured as part of a video clip on the Audio track, and the audio that was captured or imported and added to the Audio/Music track). Adjusting the audio levels determines which audio plays louder than the other in your movie.
Enter a title for the movie
Click to go to the Enter Text for Title page, and then type the new text for the title.
Select an AutoMovie editing style
Click to go to the Select an AutoMovie Editing Style page, and then choose an AutoMovie editing style for your movie.

See more about Windows Movie Maker:

Windows Movie Maker - How to create an AutoMovie?

To create an AutoMovie

  1. Select a collection in the Collections pane or select multiple clips in the Contents pane.
  2. On the Tools menu, click AutoMovie.
    –or-
    In the Movie Tasks pane, under Edit Movie, click Make an AutoMovie.
  3. On the Select an AutoMovie Editing Style page, select an AutoMovie editing style.
  4. Under More options, click Enter a title for the movie.
  5. In the Enter Text for Title page, type the text you want to appear as the title.
  6. Under More options, click Select audio or background music.
  7. In Audio and music files, do one of the following:
    • Select an audio or music file from the current list.
    • Click Browse to import an audio or music file on your hard disk into Windows Movie Maker to use in your movie.
    • Select None if you do not want any audio or music added to your movie.
  8. Do one of the following:
    • To increase the audio level of an audio clip on the Audio/Music track, drag the slider bar towards Audio/Music.
    • To increase the audio level of the audio on the Audio track that is part of a video clip, drag the slider bar towards Audio from video.
  9. Click Done, edit movie to create the AutoMovie and add the clips to the storyboard/timeline.
The time it takes for the AutoMovie to be created and added to the storyboard/timeline depends on the duration and amount of audio, video, and pictures you selected or in the selected collection.
Note
  • To select multiple contiguous clips, click the first clip, press and hold down the SHIFT key, and then click the last clip. To select one clip at a time, press and hold down the CTRL key, and then click each clip that you want to be included in the movie you create by using the AutoMovie feature. 
See more about Windows Movie Maker:

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

How To create a Web photo gallery (Photoshop)?

You use the Web Photo Gallery command to automatically generate a Web photo gallery from a set of images. A Web photo gallery is a Web site that features a home page with thumbnail images and gallery pages with full-size images. Each page contains links that allow visitors to navigate the site. For example, when a visitor clicks a thumbnail image on the home page, a gallery page with the associated full-size image loads.

Photoshop provides a variety of styles for your gallery, which you can select using the Web Photo Gallery command. If you are an advanced user who has knowledge of HTML, you can also customize a style by editing a set of HTML template files or create a new style.


To create a Web photo gallery:
  1. Choose File > Automate > Web Photo Gallery.
  2. Under Site, do the following:
    • Choose a style for the gallery from the Styles pop-up menu. A preview of the home page for the chosen style appears in the dialog box.
    • Enter the email address that you want to display as the contact for the gallery.
    • Choose an extension for the generated files from the Extension pop-up menu.
  3. Under Folders, do the following:
    • Click Browse (Windows) or Choose (Mac OS). Then select the folder containing the images that you want to appear in the gallery, and click OK (Windows) or Choose (Mac OS).
    • Select Include All Subdirectories to include images inside any subfolders of the selected folder.
    • Click Destination, select the destination folder that you want to contain the images and HTML pages for the gallery, and click OK (Windows) or Choose (Mac OS).
  4. To set options for the banner that appears on each page in the gallery, choose Banner from the Options pop-up menu. Then do the following:
    • For Site Name, enter the title of the gallery.
    • For Photographer, enter the name of the person or organization that deserves credit for the photos in the gallery.
    • For Contact Info, enter the contact information for the gallery, such as a telephone number or a business address.
    • For Date, enter the date that you want to appear on each page of the gallery. By default, Photoshop uses the current date.
    • For Font and Font Size, choose options for the banner text.
  5. To set options for the gallery pages, choose Large Images from the Options pop-up menu. Then do the following:
    • To have Photoshop resize the source images for placement on the gallery pages, select Resize Images. Then choose an option for the image size from the pop-up menu or enter a size in pixels. For Constrain, choose which dimensions of the image you want to constrain during resizing. For JPEG Quality, choose an option from the pop-up menu, enter a value between 0 and 12, or drag the slider. A higher value results in better image quality but larger file size.
    • For Border Size, enter the width of the border around the image in pixels.
    • For Titles Use, specify options to display caption information under each image. Select Filename to display the filename, or select Caption, Credits, Title, and Copyright to display caption text drawn from the File Info dialog box.
    • For Font and Font Size, choose options for the caption text.
  6. To set options for the home page, choose Thumbnails from the Options pop-up menu. Then do the following:
    • For Size, choose an option for the thumbnail size from the pop-up menu or enter a value in pixels for the width of each thumbnail.
    • For Columns and Rows, enter the number of columns and rows that you want to be used to display the thumbnails on the home page. This option doesn't apply to galleries that use the Horizontal Frame Style or Vertical Frame Style.
    • For Border Size, enter the width of the border around each thumbnail in pixels.
  7. To set options for colors of elements in the gallery, choose Customize Colors from the Options pop-up menu. To change the color of a particular element, click its color swatch, and then select a new color using the Color Picker. The Background option lets you change the background color of each page. The Banner option lets you change the background color of the banner.
  8. To set options to display text to appear over each image as an anti-theft deterrent, choose Security from the Options pop-up menu. Then do the following:
    • For Use, select Custom Text to enter customized text. Select Filename, Caption, Credits, Title, or Copyright to display text drawn from the File Info dialog box.
    • Specify font, color, and text alignment options. To place the text on the image at an angle, choose a rotation option.
    Photoshop places the following HTML and JPEG files in your destination folder:
    • A home page for your gallery named index.htm or index.html depending on the Extension options. Open this file in any Web browser to preview your gallery.
    • JPEG images inside an images subfolder.
    • HTML pages inside a pages subfolder.
    • JPEG thumbnail images inside a thumbnails subfolder.

How to trim a clip - Windows Movie Maker

To trim a clip

  1. On the View menu, click Timeline.
  2. In the Collections pane, click the collection that contains the clip you want to add, and then click the clip you want to trim in the Contents pane.
  3. On the Clip menu, click Add to Timeline.
  4. On the timeline, select the clip you want to trim.
  5. On the timeline, click the playback indicator and drag it to the point where you want to trim the clip.
    -or-
    Use the playback controls on the monitor to go to the point where you want to trim the clip.
  6. Do the following:
    • When the playback indicator is at the point where you want the selected video or audio clip to start playing back, on the Clip menu, click Set Start Trim Point.
    • When the playback indicator is at the point where you want the selected video or audio clip to stop playing back, on the Clip menu, click Set End Trim Point.
Note
  • You can also drag the trim handles to set the start and end trim points. The trim handles appear when the clip is selected on the timeline. 

To clear trim points

  1. On the timeline with a project opened, click the trimmed clip.
  2. On the Clip menu, click Clear Trim Points.

Windows Movie Maker - How to split and combine a video or audio clip?

To split a video or audio clip

  1. In the Contents pane or on the storyboard/timeline, click the clip you want to split.
  2. On the Play menu, click Play Clip, and then click Pause Clip on the Play menu to pause the video at the point you want to split the clip.
    -or-
    On the monitor, move the playback indicator on the seek bar to the point you want to split the clip.
  3. On the Clip menu, click Split. 

To combine a split audio or video clip

  1. In the Contents pane or on the storyboard/timeline, hold down the CTRL key, and then select the contiguous clips you want to combine.
  2. On the Clip menu, click Combine.
    The name and property information of the first clip in the group is used for the new clip and the time is adjusted accordingly.
Note
  • To select consecutive clips, click the first clip, press and hold down the SHIFT key, and then click the last clip. To select one clip at a time, press and hold down the CTRL key, and then click each clip that you want to combine. 
See more about Windows Movie Maker:


Tuesday, 26 August 2014

Windows Movies Maker - How to Move and copy clips?

How to split and combine a video or audio clip?

You can copy and move files and clips in the storyboard/timeline to other parts of the storyboard/timeline. By moving a clip, you can change its position on the storyboard/timeline without having to delete it, and then add it to the storyboard/timeline again. You can include the same content multiple times in your project by copying a clip. For example, you might have a short video clip at the beginning of your project that you want to repeat two times before playing the main content in your project.

When you copy or move a video clip or picture on the storyboard/timeline, any added video effect is also copied, and it will appear in the new location.

To copy a clip on the storyboard/timeline

  1. On the storyboard/timeline, select the clip you want to copy.
  2. On the Edit menu, click Copy.
  3. Do one of the following, depending on which view you are working in:
    • On the storyboard, click the next empty cell.
    • On the timeline, move the playback indicator to the point where you want to paste the clip.
  4. On the Edit menu, click Paste.
To select multiple clips, hold down the CTRL key and click each clip that you want to copy.
As an alternative to using the menu commands to copy and paste one or more clips, you can also use the mouse to copy and paste. To do this, hold down the CTRL key and click each clip that you want to copy. While still holding down the CTRL key, drag the selected clip or clips to the new location on the storyboard/timeline. When you copy clips by using the mouse, a small plus sign in a square appears to indicate that the clip is being copied.

To move a clip on the storyboard/timeline

  1. On the storyboard/timeline, select the clip you want to move.
  2. On the Edit menu, click Cut.
  3. Do one of the following, depending on which view you are working in:
    • On the storyboard, click the next empty cell.
    • On the timeline, move the playback indicator to the point where you want to paste the clip.
  4. On the Edit menu, click Paste.
To select multiple clips, hold down the CTRL key and click each clip that you want to cut.
As an alternative to using the menu commands to cut and paste one or more clips, you can also use the mouse to cut and paste. To do this, hold down the CTRL key and click each clip that you want to move, and then drag the selected clip to the new location on the storyboard/timeline. When you move clips by using the mouse, a square appears to indicate that the file or clip is being moved.

To nudge a clip on the timeline

  1. On the timeline, select the clip on the Video track, Audio/Music track, or Title Overlay track that you want to move slightly.
  2. Do one of the following, depending on which way you want to move the clip:
    • To move the clip slightly to the left on the timeline, on the Clip menu, click Nudge Left.
    • To move the clip slightly to the right on the timeline, on the Clip menu, click Nudge Right. 

    See more about Windows Movie Maker:

Windows Movies Maker - How to Undo one or multiple actions?

To undo the last action

  • On the Edit menu, click Undo ActionName.
Note
  • ActionName represents the last action title that appears after the Undo command on the Edit menu. For example, if you imported several picture files at one time, the command would read Undo Import File. 

To redo the last undone action

  • On the Edit menu, click Redo ActionName.
Note
  • ActionName represents the last action title that appears after the Redo command on the Edit menu. For example, if the last action was to remove imported picture files, and you wanted to re-import the pictures, the command is Redo Import File. 

To undo or redo multiple actions at one time

Windows Movies Maker - How to Importing video files and clip detection?

You can choose to have the video file separated into smaller, more manageable clips when you import video files into Windows Movie Maker. Clips are created through a process called "clip detection." When you import video files and select the Create clips for video files check box in the Import File dialog box, clips are created based on the type of video file or files you choose to import.
Clips are created as follows, for the different video file formats.
  • Windows Media Format video files. If you import a Windows Media video file with an .asf or .wmv file name extension, a clip is created for each marker that is in the original file. The markers help to divide the file into manageable sizes. Markers may have been inserted into the original Windows Media file to describe a specific portion or event within the video. If the original Windows Media file contains no markers or only one marker, a clip is created when there is a substantial change in one frame of the video compared to the next frame. The minimum duration of a clip is one second.
  • Other video file formats. If you import a video file that is not a Windows Media file, such as a video file with a .mpeg file name extension, a clip is created when there is a substantial change in one frame of the video compared to the next frame.
  • DV-AVI files. If you import an AVI file that contains video captured from a DV camera, and time stamp information was added to that file, clips are created based on the time stamp information in the file.
If the Create clips for video files check box is not selected when you import a video file, the video file is imported and appears as one whole clip in Windows Movie Maker. You can later run clip creation after the video file is imported into Windows Movie Maker to separate the clip into smaller clips.
When importing video files, you can choose the following option:
Create clips for video files

Windows Movies Maker - How to import existing digital media files?

  1. On the File menu, click Import into Collections.
    –or-
    Do one of the following, depending on what type of digital media file you want to import:
    • In the Movie Tasks pane, under Capture Video, click Import video.
    • In the Movie Tasks pane, under Capture Video, click Import pictures.
    • In the Movie Tasks pane, under Capture Video, click Import audio or music.
  2. In File name, enter the path and file name of the file you want to import, and then click Import.
  3. If you want selected video files to be separated into smaller clips, select the Create clips for video files check box.
Note
  • You can import several files at one time. For consecutive files, click the first file in the list, press and hold down the SHIFT key, and then click the last file in the list. For files that are not consecutive, press and hold down the CTRL key, and then click each file that you want to import.

Windows Movies Maker - How to take a picture from video in the monitor?

In the Contents pane or on the storyboard/timeline, select the video clip you want to take a picture from.
Do one of the following:
  • On the monitor, move the playback indicator on the seek bar to the frame of the video that you want to capture as a picture.
    –or-
  • On the Play menu, click Play Storyboard or Play Timeline, depending on the view you are working in, and then pause playback at the frame of video you want to capture as a picture.

On the Tools menu, click Take Picture from Preview.
-or-
On the monitor, click the Take Picture button.

In the File name box, enter a name for the picture file, and then click Save.

Monday, 25 August 2014

Windows Movies Maker - How to Use the DV controls?

You can use the digital video controls in Windows Movie Maker to control your DV camera or DV VCR from your computer. These controls are like the controls on your VCR or camera. These controls are available when your DV device is connected to an IEEE 1394 port, and it is set to the playback position (often labeled VCR or VTR on a DV camera).
These controls are available only when a DV device is connected to an IEEE 1394 port and detected by Windows Movie Maker.
The following controls appear in the DV camera controls area.
Play
Click to play the tape in your DV camera or VCR at normal speed.
Pause
Click to pause playback of the tape in your DV camera or VCR at the current point.
Stop
Click to stop playing the tape in your DV camera or VCR.
Rewind
Click to rewind the tape in your DV camera or VCR to the point you want to begin playing it again.
Previous frame
Click to go to the previous frame of the tape in your DV camera or VCR.
Next frame
Click to go to the next frame of the tape in your DV camera or VCR.
Fast forward
Click to fast-forward the tape in your DV camera or VCR to the point you want to begin playing it again.
Tape position
Specifies the current position of the tape based on the time code of the tape. This lets you see what part of the tape is being played back or captured (if you have started capturing). The tape position is displayed in the form of hours: minutes:seconds:frames (h:mm:ss:ff).