Thursday, 7 August 2014

MS Excel - How to Share a workbook in Excel?

  1. Create a workbook you want to make available for multiuser editing, and enter any data you want to provide. If you want to include any of the following features, add them now: merged cells, conditional formats, data validation, charts, pictures, objects including drawing objects, hyperlinks, scenarios, outlines, subtotals, data tables, PivotTable reports, workbook and worksheet protection, and macros. You can't make changes to these features after you share the workbook.
  2. On the Tools menu, click Share Workbook, and then click the Editing tab.
  3. Select the Allow changes by more than one user at the same time check box, and then click OK.
  4. When prompted, save the workbook.
  5. On the File menu, click Save As, and then save the workbook on a network location accessible to the intended users. Use a shared network folder, not a Web server.
  6. Check any links to other workbooks or documents, and fix any that are broken:
    1. On the Edit menu, click Links. The Links command is unavailable if your file does not contain linked information.
    2. Click Check Status to update the status for all links in the list. This may take a while if there are a lot of links, or if the source workbook for the links is on a network location, and the network is slow.
    3. Check the status in the Status column, select the link, and then take the action needed.
      OK    No action required, the link is working and up to date.

     Notes:
    1. All users with access to the network share have full access to the shared workbook, unless you use the Protect Sheet command (Tools menu, Protection submenu) to restrict access.
    2. The users who will edit the shared workbook need Microsoft Excel 97 or later (Microsoft Windows) or Excel 98 or later (Macintosh).

No comments:

Post a Comment